GODDESSES

Here are the singers I consider Goddesses in my musical repertory by the simply fact that they’re unique in a particular way. They have remain faithful to their style, they are Muses to many and they have become modern Icons. These ladies were born to rule the stage.

MONICA NARANJO

Monica Naranjo is a Spanish Goddess. when I 1st saw her on tv in 1993 I felt pretty meh about her. She looked like another punk-glam singer and my ignorant judgemental young-self didn’t expected much, until she opened her mouth and her POTENT voice slapped the shit out of me. I got on my knees and I praise her ever since. Monica started her career in Mexico after Spain simply ignored her amazing talent. And once she became HUGE those Spanish assholes claimed her back. Her heart however belongs to Latin America. Like a true Goddess she keeps her personal life very private and out of the spotlight, which only makes her more fascinating in the world of over exposure that we live.

MYLENE FARMER

I get the chills just by typing her name. On the other hand, it’s hard to find videos of her.

I discovered Mylène in ’95 when I arrived to Montreal. She wasn’t that popular here but at the time she had a new album out and it was a massive success. I was instantly mesmerised by her unique voice, her dark Gothic/sexual style and enigmatic personality. Mylène is the most successful recording artists of all time in France and holds the records for most #1 in French history. Not everybody likes her, but the fact is she is a CULT in the music industry. Mylène, again, like a REAL Goddess is never in the spotlight and her personal life is somehow a mystery.

Fun fact Mylène was born in the suburbs of Montreal, she is Canadian, but her family moved to France during her childhood. In the mid-90’s she moved to the US (California) when a crazy fan looking for her at Polydor Recors in Paris opened fire and killed the receptionist. Mylène is the reason why I learned French pretty quick, as I used to play her emo/dark 80’s 90’s music and sing along. 

KYLIE MINOGUE

Kylie Minogue (unlike Monica or Mylène) is not as enigmatic because she’s the epitome of POP. She’s mainstream, she’s colourful, and she’s devastatingly beautiful. But like the other two she is also a monster on stage. In her 27 yrs in the industry, she never had one single scandal to boost her career like others do. She has remain faithful to herself and has won countless recognition around the world including Chevalier (knight) of the Ordre des Arts et des Lettres by the French government, an OBE (Officer of the Bristish Empire) by the Queen, and also was inducted by the Australian Recording Industry Association into the ARIA Hall of Fame.

Kylie is one of the few entertainers that sings LIVE in all of her concerts and she commands the stage like only few. Again, I’ve seen many huge artist on stage (Madonna, Beyoncé, Mariah, Cher, Rihanna, Gaga, etc) but as natural, classy and CHARISMATIC as Kyle, not many! And definitely NONE of them!! She’s the original Showgirl after all. Goddess. That is all! 

SARAH BRIGHTMAN

I knew about Sarah Brigthman but I only became a huge fan the moment I saw her in concert. I didn’t really know what to expect other than listen to “opera” but how wrong I was… This woman not only educated my already eclectic musical knowledge but mesmerized me with her majestic presence. She was a vision, she transport me to another dimension and to me she is the one over-the-top!

You can see more of them under the tags with their names.

Leave a Reply

