American On Purpose

american-on-purposeLazy Sunday for me, no gym today, but actually I’m getting ready to go visit my parents and I am bringing my actual book “First They Kill My Father” to read on my way there. But, I’m taking a break of that one to post about American on Purpose: The Improbable Adventures of an Unlikely Patriot by Craig Ferguson.

This was a re-read for me, but I never posted about it so I thought it was a good opportunity to do so. I read it when it was released back in 2009 and I did it again last month. I bought it mainly because I love his show and his crazy persona, but I didn’t really knew much about him only that he was Scottish and insane. After reading his memoir my admiration grew only bigger

What I loved about his memoir was that he writes exactly how he talks: with humor, with honesty, and with warmth. Craig has lived a hell of a life, growing up in one of the worst cities in Scotland, being tormented by teachers and fellow students, swept up by the punk movement, drumming in different punk bands leading to drugs and alcoholism, eventually sobering up, finding a career in comedy, marrying three very different women (he was also addicted to the ladies) and finally achieving his lifelong dream of becoming an American.

Emma Thompson, U2, Peter Capaldi (his hero) are some of the names he mentions while all of them been not yet famous.

anigif_enhanced-buzz-5872-1398748532-5

I expected wit and irony and sass throughout, but instead it’s insightful and hopeful. Of course there was humor, but only when life made it funny. There was a moment when he decided to commit suicide, but when he was about to do it someone offered him a drink and they got drunk. He quoted: “Alcohol saved my life” (only that time).

His sense of humor was never affected and that’s very admirable to me, same as his honesty.

tumblr_nd93nexqd61qa7mg1o1_500

“Whoever I had become had to die.”…  I can relate to that.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

