Ghost In The Shell

I have been wanting to go to the cinema for a long time, but I didn’t want to go alone. I asked Xavier few times and he said yes, only to change his mind later.

Last week (before I met Alex) he said yes again, but he never texted me back… until yesterday. And his message had nothing to do with going to the cinema. So, I gave up.

I just have to accept that he doesn’t want to see me, as I also accepted that Justin doesn’t want to talk to me.

Anyhow, last night Alex and I went to see Ghost In The Shell.

Ghost in the Shell happens in a near-future where cybernetic modification of the human body is commonplace. Johansson’s character, Major, works for government counter-terrorism agency Section 9 and is told her brain was implanted into a powerful robotic body after a near-death experience. A mission to stop a series of high-profile killings leads the Major to painful truths about how she was reborn into her new life.

Like the 1995 animated movie directed by Mamoru Oshii and the Masamune Shirow manga it’s based on, Ghost in the Shell focuses on a crisis of the human soul, hastened by the unchecked use of technology that threatens to make humankind’s default biological housing obsolete.

The original anime film questioned what it meant to be human in a time when consciousness can live outside the body and memories are subject to editing and manipulation.

Although, real fans of the iconic manga are hating this Hollywood adaptation, I actually enjoyed the film. 

The beginning was a bit boring, but it got better afterwards. 

 
What I really loved was the beautiful imagery.

I’m a visual creature and I appreciated that.

Leave a Reply

